Reviews

7.9
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
7.9
Comfort
7.1
Property location
9.0
Facilities
7.2
Staff
8.8
Value
7.4

Reviews

    Dawn
    au

    Review score

    8.8
    20 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    ie

    Review score

    10
    12 May 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Marina
    gb

    Review score

    8.8
    8 May 2018
    Stairs are very steep and narrow which is to be expected from an older property, no lift so unless you are on the ground floor not suitable for people with mobility issues. Steps leading to reception
    Charming traditional building with many original details. Friendly helpful staff. Clean and reasonably sized rooms porter assisted with taking baggage up to the room.
    Tony
    gb

    Review score

    10
    8 May 2018

    Friendly staff in a perfect location

    Friendly helpful staff and lovely quiet room in a perfect location for exploring cultural Amsterdam. Great tips on best way to travel to out of town locations which saved on expected expenditure
    Ella_1886
    au

    Review score

    7.9
    8 May 2018

    A brief visit before my flight out.

    I booked last minute so it wasn't quite the value for money that I expected. I also forgot to ask for a room on a lower floor and so ended up lugging a very heavy suitcase up a narrow steep staircase - my own fault.
    The room was comfortable and clean and located at the back so was quiet. The guy at reception was really friendly and upon hearing the types of places I liked to visit, recommended the Museum Van Loon which I'd never heard of but that I absolutely loved. The hotel was also well located for wandering into town, travel by train, and getting to and from the airport.
    RobPG
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    7 May 2018

    Perfect Stay For Our Photography Weekend

    I couldn't stay longer! - nothing i could fault
    I organised a weekend away for my Photography group, We All Shoot Photos and wanted somewhere away from the hustle and bustle of the main Red Light District area. We weren't looking for a fancy place with loads of facilities, just a clean hotel with bedroom to sleep in. Hotel Freeland met my expectations. Perfectly situated, excellent, friendly, handsome staff that went out of their way to help us organising taxis and providing travel advice. Room was described as small when I booked but it was perfect size for my needs. Clean room. Couldn't fault it. Would definitely stay again if we organise another weekend away at some point.
    si

    Review score

    9.6
    4 May 2018

    Would recommend

    Friendly staff, great location, clean and comfortable room. For this price close to the city centre I would not expect more. It felt very welcoming and after a long day of walking I was very happy to jump in a soft bed.
    DavidG
    fr

    Review score

    7.5
    1 May 2018

    Good location and amazing staff but noisy.

    The hotel is VERY noisy! You can hear every person walking and talking in the corridor. The blame is not only on the room though, people there were just loud!
    Very good location, quite central Staff was very welcoming and helpful!
    kannika
    th

    Review score

    9.6
    1 May 2018

    good location

    no lift
    location and clean
    Rebecca
    gb

    Review score

    10
    29 April 2018

    Perfect!

    I’m not sure anything could be improved - maybe a small towel rail in the bathroom but I’m being super picky!
    It was lovely. The location was great, just off a main square and a short walk to the museum district. The staff were helpful and breakfast was yummy - great value for money.
    gb

    Review score

    7.0
    27 April 2018

    Ok hotel for a short break......

    Not a good place if you have mobility issues. We were in room 16 on the loft level so had four flights of very steep and narrow stairs to climb. Didn't like the privacy of bathroom door which was a plastic concertina door. Basic, average hotel which could do with updating.
    Comfy beds,good breakfast-very accommodating for what you wanted.All staff very pleasant and helpful.
    Anastasia
    ru

    Review score

    8.8
    17 April 2018
    Perfect location, great staff, and there's a cat!
    Carole
    gb

    Review score

    7.5
    17 April 2018

    Value for money

    Small single room - with enough space to move around in( some ‘small’ rooms are VERY small), with a private bathroom and toilet. Serviced daily. Friendly staff and a good breakfast available. It’s not fancy - so don’t go looking for ‘extras’ - but for a modest, clean base where you can feel comfortable, this is a great choice. Happy to hold my luggage after I’d checked out as my flight wasn’t until late afternoon.
    K
    us

    Review score

    9.2
    16 April 2018
    Great location right next one of the canals, felt safe at all times, staff was really nice, and the room was clean and had everything I needed.
    gb

    Review score

    10
    16 April 2018

    Great hotel definitely will return

    Arrived to a friendly chap and lovely cat, checkin and out was seemless. Location is incredibly Central that you can walk almost everywhere in Amsterdam. Had a takeaway delivery which the cat was interested and joined US dispite there wasn't meat however he was ever so entertaining. The whole place was clean and very well maintained. Definitely will return.
    David
    gb

    Review score

    10
    16 April 2018
    Comfy mattress
    Dorothy
    us

    Review score

    7.9
    15 May 2018

    Friendly, budget hotel in fantastic location.

    Carpet in room appeared to be 30 year old indoor/outdoor carpeting. Only English channel on TV was CNN. No ice available.
    The location is fantastic! The staff were helpful and friendly. The room was exceptionally small but I knew that prior to booking. The primary weakness for me was the floors were pretty dirty (I accidentally spilled my coffee in the reception area and when I wiped it up, the towel was filthy.) and the lack of ice!
    us

    Review score

    9.6
    8 May 2018
    Nice staff with check-in and help in getting taxi to get to our boat the next day. Great location for walk to the large, relaxing Vondelpark and Museum Plein. Very good full breakfast, well worth the added cost to our room cost.
    us

    Review score

    7.5
    8 May 2018

    Stay was fine - Booking.com experience was horrible.

    The way Booking.com hid critical details in the fine print or only mentioned them after the booking was no longer cancellable. Also Booking.com makes it sound as if property is located near train station when it is actually near a tram station (again the fine print) . If I would have been fully informed (example the shared toilet is 1/2 the size of an airplane toilet) I would not have been as angry as I was once we finally located the hotel.
    Staff, cleanliness and location
    us

    Review score

    7.9
    21 April 2018
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews